This site is intended for health professionals only
Sunday 19 November 2017

Carolyn Wickware

Articles by this author

Wed 9 August
Wed 9 August
Practices in Suffolk plan to keep communication lines open using a mobile chat app in the event of another cybersecurity attack on the NHS.
Mon 12 June
Mon 12 June
Following the election in which Theresa May lost the Conservative majority, Jeremy Hunt has been reappointed as health secretary for a record third time.
Wed 10 May
Wed 10 May
An incorrectly reported practice split and significant changes to some practice registration numbers led to incorrect QOF figures being sent to the majority of practices in England, an NHS Digital investigation has found
Fri 25 November
Fri 25 November
A practice manager who works for a GP alliance in Coventry and Rugby has been awarded the “Practice Manager of the Year” at a ceremony in London
Wed 12 October
Wed 12 October
Core practice teams will include a named GP, nurse, healthcare assistant and admin staff
Fri 7 October
Fri 7 October
David Mowat said that the Department of Health is expecting some STPs “not to be able to move forward”
Thu 6 October
Thu 6 October
If STPs fail to allocate funding to general practice, primary care could lose up to £760m in 2020/21
Wed 5 October
Wed 5 October
Dr Robert Varnam said the programme has 'currently got practices signed up covering nearly a quarter of the country'
Tue 4 October
Tue 4 October
Trainee doctors will be required to work in the NHS for four years after qualifying, the health secretary has announced
Wed 21 September
Wed 21 September
Government funding for CPD for nurses, midwives and allied health professionals will be cut by up to a half in 2016/17
Wed 14 September
Wed 14 September
NHS England is “in discussions” with the Practice Management Network over implementing student bursaries for practice managers
Thu 8 September
Thu 8 September
The CNO has urged general practice to open its doors to offer more practice nurse placements for undergraduates
Wed 7 September
Wed 7 September
The health secretary has announced a “move towards self-diagnosis” in the NHS with a new online symptom-checker.
Tue 6 September
Tue 6 September
Overworked GPs are partly behind a recent surge in psychiatric drug prescribing, the director of a leading drugs charity has said
Thu 25 August
Thu 25 August
UK’s leading nursing magazines have united in an effort to convince the Government to reconsider scrapping bursaries for student nurses
Tue 16 August
Tue 16 August
Declining stakeholder satisfaction in clinical commissioning groups (CCGs) is being chalked up to GP dissatisfaction
Thu 11 August
Thu 11 August
UK’s leading nursing magazines have united in an effort to convince the Government to reconsider scrapping bursaries for student nurses
Tue 2 August
Tue 2 August
NHS England is legally responsible for the commissioning of PrEP, an HIV drug, following a court ruling today
Wed 6 July
Wed 6 July
The head of a Government review into NHS IT systems has said a paperless health service by 2020 “is not possible in the UK”
Mon 4 July
Mon 4 July
A leading healthcare charity has warned that NHS budgets could see a cut of £2.8 billion if the UK leaves the EU